Diabetes can be inspirational

Blood sugars around the clockShots in a weekDiagnosed last month

One of the comments I keep hearing about in relation to Inspired by Diabetes is that people don’t know how to be inspired by a disease. I would like to turn your attention to a couple examples that will show you it is possible to be inspired by diabetes.

‘A Lifetime of Diabetes’ by Teresa Ollila. At the age of three, her son was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes and her family was thrust into a “scary and altogether unfamiliar world.” Now she has begun creating a collection of photographs that are inspired by diabetes.

Captain Courage is a Diabetic Superhero created by Bob Kelly after his son was diagnosed with diabetes.  It is fun, entertaining and serves as a great way to get diabetes messages to kids.

This is a poem by Connor Comolli

Diagnosis Day
In the blink of an eye, everything changed….

I was diagnosed with diabetes,
I wasn’t feeling well.
I got shots in my arm,
thank goodness it didn’t swell.

I was at the hospital,
for about a week.
I found something better than shots,
I really had to seek.

The invention is really helpful,
it is called a pump.
It gets stuck to me,
with a tiny little thump.

Till this day,
it is always with me.
I can’t get rid of it,
even with help from thee.

I test my blood sugar,
and watch what I eat.
I plan all my meals,
and even my treats.

I’m allowed to eat anything,
like other kids do.
I’ll try to go overboard,
but than I feel blue.

My life changed that day,
In a blink of an eye,
But I can handle anything,
cause I have Irish eyes.

These are all great examples of how, if you just take the time to think about the impact of the disease, you can come up with so many fabulous images, moving poems, abstract paintings and beautiful songs.

6 Responses

  1. i was the 1 that have written this poem

  2. Do you wish me to make a new one?

  3. Hey Connor, it’s a great poem. Feel free if you want to write another. Send it to inspiredbydiabetes-me@tbwaraad.com.

  4. I would like to use the baby graphic for a diabetes presentation for day care (non-profit). Does this image have a copyright?

  5. […] Comments inspiredbydiabetes on Diabetes can be inspirati…Jamie Lee on Diabetes can be inspirati…ruslandiabetes on 10 Misconceptions […]

Leave a Reply

